top of page

EP 63 - Ashes Are Spread

All My Children - Thursday June 9th, 2016

EPISODE # 63

Written By: Casey Hutchison

Executive Producer: Dawn Hayes

Directed By: Jill Ackles

A new morning has come to Pine Valley. At Liza’s Apartment, Liza comes down the stairs. She is putting on a bracelet. There is a knock at the door. She walks over to the door, and opens it.

LIZA: Hello, Colby.

COLBY: (sighs) Hi mama.

Colby and Liza embrace.

---

At Asher’s Apartment, loud rock music is blaring through Asher’s speakers. He is packing clothes into a duffle bag. He zips up his duffle bag, shuts off his music. Asher then walks over to his night stand, and picks up a photo of him and Caleb. He then walks to the door, walks out, slamming the door.

---

At the Chandler Mansion, the sun creeps through the blinds of Stuart and Marian’s room. The two are getting dressed for the day.

MARIAN: (sighs) Are you ready for this?

STUART: I truly don’t know if I am. It will be a hard thing to. After today, I come to terms with my son being gone.

MARIAN: Well, you have a wife that is here for you.

STUART: I love you will all my heart.

MARIAN: I love you too, darling. Now, let’s do this. Together.

---

---

In Pine Valley Park, Liza, Colby, Adam, Stuart, Marian, Brooke, Hayley, Matteo, Lorenzo, Erica, and Jackson are at a nice spot by a tree.

LIZA: Good morning everyone. And, thank you so much for coming. Last month, three men lost their lives through a deadly car accident. Two of those men were Scott Chandler, and Caleb Cortlandt. Caleb, was my husband, and a wonderful father. Scott was a wonderful husband, and an even better man. Today, we are here to spread their ashes, and pay tribute to the amazing lives they lived.

(FLASH)

ERICA: I will never forget Caleb. He was a man that deserves everyone’s respect here. He knew how to always stay true to himself. When I first met him, it was when I was involved in a plane crash. Caleb became my closest friend, even though I was very stubborn at first. Caleb taught me so much. He taught me things I will never forget. And, for that, I thank him.

Erica takes some of Caleb’s ashes, and sprinkles them.

(FLASH)

COLBY: I was honored to have Caleb has a mentor. That man was in my life for six years. He was everything my mother needed. I have the best daddy in the world (looking over at Adam), but I will always remember Caleb as a father figure. I’m gonna miss him.

Colby takes some of Caleb’s ashes, and sprinkles them.

(FLASH)

LIZA: (sobs) My husband was a great man. He lived a great life. He gave me six years of happiness. For that, I will thank him always. I am going to miss you, Caleb. I am going to never stop loving you, dear. For as long as I live.

Liza takes some of Caleb’s ashes, and sprinkles them.

(FLASH)

MADISON: I do not even know where to begin when it comes to my husband. I can only think of two words to describe Scott. Caring and lovable. That is just the type of man he was. When I started to go on the wrong path, he picked me up, and reassured me everything was going to be just fine. He is truly the best thing that has ever happened to me.

Madison takes some of Caleb’s ashes, and sprinkles them.

(FLASH)

STUART: Today is a hard day. I have to say goodbye to my boy. The son that I brought into this world is gone. But, my love for him is like a candle that will burn long after I live. I cannot wait to see you again.

MARIAN: We love you, Scotty.

STUART: Yes, we do.

Stuart and Marian both spread some of Scott’s ashes.

(FLASH)

BROOKE: Adam and I would just like to say that we loved Scott with all of our hearts. Words cannot begin to define the love we had for him.

ADAM: Even though we would do battle, once in awhile, I always respected Scott. He was a man who always held his ground. Sometimes I would see a little of myself in him. We needed that in the Chandler family.

BROOKE: Yes, we did.

ADAM: Goodbye, Scott.

BROOKE: Goodbye, Scott.

As people continue to sprinkle ashes, Colby gets a text. The text reads:

COLBY: Hey, mom, I have to go.

LIZA: Honey, you can’t leave.

COLBY: it’s Asher, mom. He needs me.

LIZA: Oh. Well, you should go ahead.

COLBY: Thank you.

Colby gets up, and walks off.

HAYLEY: Hey, where is Colby going?

LIZA: Asher needs her.

MATTEO: Is he okay?

LIZA: Yeah.

LORENZO: Are you okay?

LIZA: I’ll be fine.

---

At the Foot Bridge, Asher has his car parked, and he is on the bridge. Colby walks up to him, she comes from the left.

COLBY: Hey. What’s up?

ASHER: (sighs) I can’t do this.

COLBY: Asher, are you okay?

ASHER: I lost my dad. I lost the man I love so much. He was my dad, Colby. I didn’t show up at the service, because I can’t say goodbye.

COLBY: Asher, don’t think of it as goodbye.

ASHER: What am I supposed to think of it?

COLBY: Think of it as seya later.

ASHER: Easy for you to say.

COLBY: Listen, we both lost that man. Believe it or not, Caleb meant a lot to me too. He was a huge mentor for me.

ASHER: Anyways, when do you leave?

COLBY: After the service. You?

ASHER: Soon. But, I have a surprise for you.

Asher opens his wallet, and pulls out a photo. The photo is of Colby.

COLBY: What’s this?

ASHER: It is from our first date.

COLBY: Asher, I love it.

Colby gives Asher a hug. When they come off of the hug, the two look in one another’s eyes. They smile.

ASHER: (laughs) What?

COLBY: Come to Paris with me.

ASHER: Colby…

COLBY: I’m serious. Asher, I should have never let you go. I love you. I love you. Please say that you will come with me.

ASHER: (sighs) Are you sure?

COLBY: I’m sure.

ASHER: Then let’s do it!

Colby and Asher kiss and laugh.

***FADE OUT***

***END OF EP. 63***


bottom of page