top of page

EP 58 - Summer Fate (Pt 5): Joe Comforts Cara

All My Children - Friday May 26th, 2016

EPISODE # 58

Written By: Casey Hutchison

Executive Producer: Dawn Hayes

Directed By: Susan Simon

Morning is still upon Pine Valley. At Pine Valley Apartments, the elevator doors ding open. Colby walks down a long hallway. She turns right, and goes up to the door of Apartment 45A. She does a light knock. The door opens.

COLBY: Hey.

ASHER: What are you doing here?

COLBY: Can we talk?

ASHER: I already know that my father is dead, Colby. Not only did none of you called, I got my copy of the paper. And, there it was. So, thanks so much.

---

At the Chandler Mansion, in Marian’s Room, Marian reads the headline of the newspaper.

DEADLY CAR CRASH KILLS 3!

Marian reads on. She is shocked, and immediately drops the paper.

MARIAN: (screaming/crying) Oh my god!

Brooke rushes to Marian.

BROOKE: Marian, what is it?

MARIAN: Scott is dead! Oh god!

BROOKE: Marian, what are you talking about?

Brooke sees for herself.

BROOKE: Oh my god.

---

At Pine Valley Memorial, Cara walks into the conference room. She flops down in a seat, and has a flashback of Caleb’s surgery.

(FLASHBACK)

CARA: Come on, Caleb! Dammit! Don’t you die! Come on! 1, 2, 3. 1, 2, 3. 1, 2, 3. 1, 2, 3.

NURSE: He’s gone, Dr. Castillo.

CARA: No!

(PRESENT TIME)

As Cara thinks about the night she couldn’t save Caleb, she cannot help but tear up a little. Then, Joe enters.

JOE: Oh, sorry Cara. Didn’t know anyone else was in here.

CARA: (standing) You are fine. I was just going to fill up my post-op notes for Mrs. Martinez’s knee surgery.

JOE: Are you okay? You know I am here for you. Like we said, I do not always have to be the chief of surgery.

CARA: If we are being honest, then no. I am not okay.

JOE: Why not?

CARA: Because, I can’t get over the fact the I lost Caleb on that table.

---

---

At Erica’s Penthouse, Erica is sitting on the couch. Jackson enters with a cup of tea. He hands her the cup of tea, and sits next to her.

JACKSON: (sighs) Kendall, Bianca, and Zach will be here soon.

ERICA: I know. I can’t help but stare at the clock every five seconds.

JACKSON: Stuart invited us to the wedding, today.

ERICA: I love Marian and Stuart both, but I can’t go. I’ll send them flowers.

JACKSON: Listen, I know you and Joshua were not close, but this has to be taking a toll on you. It is becoming obvious.

ERICA: What are you implying, Jack? Do you think I am gonna pick up a bottle?

JACKSON: I didn’t mean it that way.

ERICA: Or, pick up a bottle of pills? It seems like you think every time a tragedy hits me, that I am going to spiral back into one of my addictions. I assure you that is not the case.

---

Back at the Chandler Mansion, in Stuart’s Room, Adam is buttoning his suit jacket.

ADAM: (sighs) It is almost time, brother.

STUART: Yes, it is.

ADAM: Are you ready to get married?

STUART: Not yet.

ADAM: Excuse me?

STUART: I can’t get married.

ADAM: Why not?

STUART: Because, you haven’t gotten your surprise, yet.

---

Back at Asher’s Apartment, Colby enters, as Asher shuts the door.

COLBY: Listen, I was actually coming over here to tell you the news. I didn’t want you to find out through a newspaper.

ASHER: Well, I did. What’s done is done. No turning back. Speaking of done things, don’t you have a flight to France, to catch?

COLBY: My father and I worked out a deal.

ASHER: Then, what about Marian and Stuart’s wedding?

COLBY: It can go on without me.

ASHER: Colby…

COLBY: Look, I am here for you.

ASHER: Are you only here for me because we had sex?

COLBY: That is ludicrous, and you know it.

ASHER: Is it?

COLBY: Asher, I am not some person who goes around acting like a crazed sex junkie. Believe it or not, I connected with you that night.

ASHER: Colby, I tried to talk to you all those times. It is crazy that it took sex for you to see another side. Now, why do you think that is?

---

Back at Pine Valley Memorial, in the Conference Room, Joe pours himself and Cara a cup of coffee. Once finished, he hands Cara a cup.

CARA: (sighs) Thank you.

JOE: No problem. So, why do you think you are hanging onto this?

CARA: I don’t know. Truly. I don’t know. I think it is because Caleb meant so much to people. Plus, he was a believer that I should stay in this country.

JOE: So, he was personal for you?

CARA: I guess you could say that.

JOE: Look, as doctors we need to let emotion not go into the ones we treat. I know it is hard. I have been where you are. However, I have learned. When Ruth had her heart attack, I decided not to treat her. I knew that it would be an emotional conflict.

CARA: Did it make it any less difficult.

JOE: Much emotion was still there. I thought I was going to lose my wife. However, there was no built up emotion over trying to search for proper medicinal routes. Cara, if I had become my wife’s doctor, I would stayed up day and night trying to find a better course of treatment. I know in my mind, I would not have just prescribed some antibiotics, keep overnight, and then send her on her way.

CARA: So, are you saying that I should try and suck emotions out of my work?

JOE: Exactly. I know it is hard. Like I said, I have been in your position before. But, I am always here. I am always here.

CARA: Thank you, Joe. I don’t know what I would do without you.

JOE: I am happy to do it. Listen, I will take care of Mrs. Martinez’s post-op notes. You take care of you. Take the rest of the day off.

CARA: Are you sure?

JOE: I’m the chief of staff. Of course I am sure.

CARA: Thank you, Joe. Thank you.

---

Back at Erica’s Penthouse, Erica comes off a hug with Kendall and Bianca.

ERICA: Thank you girls for coming. You too Zach.

ZACH: Erica, we are here for you.

KENDALL: Mom, Zach is right. Whatever you need.

ERICA: (sighs) Thank you.

JACKSON: Bianca, you have been quite, dear.

Kendall goes to her sister.

KENDALL: Binx, this little thing was called so you could say anything about Joshua that you want. You can get anything off of your chest.

ERICA: Kendall is right, sweetheart.

JACKSON: We will be here for you.

ZACH: What is it?

BIANCA: Do you guys really want to know what I think?

KENDALL: Of course we do.

BIANCA: You really want the cold hard truth.

JACKSON: Yes.

BIANCA: I am not sad that my brother, Joshua, is dead.

---

Back at the Chandler Mansion, in Marian’s Room, Marian and Brooke sit on the bed.

MARIAN: I can’t get married. Not without Stuart knowing about his son.

BROOKE: Marian, you have to get married to Stuart.

MARIAN: How? I can’t.

BROOKE: Marian, this your day with Stuart. You can tell him afterwards.

MARIAN: Why are you pushing this?

BROOKE: Because, we need some happiness. I am trying to keep everything as calm as possible. I need you to do the same.

MARIAN: I will. You are right. But, Brooke…

BROOKE: Look, can I tell you a secret?

MARIAN: Yes, of course.

BROOKE: The reason I want this thing to happen, is because I am afraid that this will be Adam’s last event. I am afraid that he will die.

---

Back in Stuart’s Room, Stuart has a smirk across his face.

ADAM: A surprise for me? Stuart, I am not the one getting married.

STUART: Listen, they are kind of like my surprise.

ADAM: They?

STUART: See for yourself.

Stuart opens the door. In walks Hayley, Matteo, and Lorenzo.

HAYLEY: Surprise.

ADAM: Oh my goodness.

MATTEO: Hey, Adam.

LORENZO: Hey, grandpa.

Adam embraces his family with a smile.

***FADE OUT***

***END OF EP. 58***


bottom of page