top of page

EP 54 - Summer Fate Begins! (Pt 1)


All My Children - Episode 54

Written By: Casey Hutchison

Executive Producer: Dawn Hayes

Directed By: Cynthia J. Popp

Night has fallen upon Pine Valley. Across town at the Pine Valley Inn, in the ballroom, many Pine Valley favorites are at the 1st Annual Sunrise Flowers Gala. Opal and Peter come off of a hug. Mia is standing next to them.

OPAL: I could not be more thrilled that you are back in town.

PETER: It is good to be back, mama.

MIA: And, your son is so far a rock star. Enchantment has been revived for only a week, and already he is killing it.

OPAL: That is my boy! Mia…

MIA: Yes?

OPAL: Do you mind giving Petey and I a second?

MIA: Oh, go right ahead. I have some potential investors to speak with. Plus, I am sure you two have a lot to catch up on.

OPAL: We do.

MIA: Alright, good to see you, Opal.

OPAL: You too.

Mia walks off.

PETER: So, what’s up?

OPAL: It is best we go outside.

---

At the Slater Home, Kendall is on the phone, as she steps down the stairs.

KENDALL: Honey, I’m am ready to go. I will be there in no time. I am literally walking out the door. Oh, and tell the boys to stay with you. Mom wants a picture of all of us. Alright, bye. I love you very much.

Upon opening the door, Kendall is in shock.

KENDALL: (sighs) What the hell are you doing here?

JOSHUA: We aren’t finished with our conversation, yet.

---

---

At Brooke’s Penthouse, Adam and Brooke are sitting on the couch.

BROOKE: What made you want to finally get the surgery?

ADAM: Well, I got things in order.

BROOKE: What does that mean?

ADAM: I made Colby the CEO of Chandler International. She leaves for Paris tonight. And, I made JR the CEO of Chandler Enterprises…, here.

BROOKE: You did what?! Are you insane Adam Chandler?

ADAM: Don’t look so shocked.

Brooke stands first, and then Adam.

BROOKE: How can I not? You just did one of the worst things possible. Colby I can see. But, JR. What in the hell has gotten into you?

---

At Pine Valley Memorial, Cara is filling at a patient chart at the nurses station. As she closes the blue binder, Cara flashes back.

(FLASHBACK EPISODE 53)

DAVID: You don’t love me!

CARA: Bull shit! I love you David! I will scream it from the rooftops! I love you!

DAVID: Cara…

CARA: I don’t care what you have done. You have always been the love of my life.

Cara and David are calm and silent for a second. Then, Cara kisses David passionately.

(PRESENT TIME)

CARA: What did I do?

Joe taps Cara on the shoulder. Cara turns around.

CARA: (sighs) Joe…, hey.

JOE: Hello.

CARA: I thought you would be home with Ruth.

JOE: Oh, I had some work to finish up. I thought you were going to the benefit.

CARA: I was going to, but I have work as well.

JOE: If you don’t mind me asking. I did notice that you had said what appeared to be a question filled with emotion. What’s going on, Cara?

CARA: Can you keep a secret as a friend, and not as my boss?

JOE: Of course.

CARA: (sighs) I kissed David.

---

At Opal’s Home, Diane and Nina walk up to the door.

NINA: Are you nervous?

DIANE: Yeah, I am.

NINA: Hey, I gotta start somewhere.

DIANE: Yes, you do.

Diane knocks on the door.

DIANE: Well, no one’s home.

NINA: Just hold on.

Nina knocks. The two women wait.

NINA: Guess she’s not.

DIANE: What do we do?

NINA: Do what new friends do. Open a bottle of wine.

---

Back at the Pine Valley Inn Ballroom, Jackson and Erica enter.

JACKSON: There’s Lily.

ERICA: Should we go to her?

JACKSON: Can we let up on the drama?

ERICA: Yes.

Erica and Jackson walk up to Lily. Lily has a clipboard in hand, and is trying to keep things together, for tonight.

ERICA: Hello, Lily.

JACKSON: You seem busy, darling.

LILY: I am.

Lily gives Jackson and Erica kisses on the cheeks.

LILY: I’m glad you two could make it.

JACKSON: We would not have missed it.

ERICA: Truly.

LILY: Well, that means a lot. Thank you. Listen, I love you both. However, I have to run off to go give this speech. Love you both.

ERICA & JACKSON: Love you too.

Lily walks off. Across the ballroom, Tad and Dixie walk up to Kevin (JR Impostor).

DIXIE: Hello, son.

KEVIN: Hey, mom. Tad.

TAD: Hey.

DIXIE: Listen, Tad and I meant to stop by before we came. However, we had other stuff to attend to. Sorry about that.

KEVIN: It is all cool mom.

TAD: Do you mind if we talk to you now?

KEVIN: What about?

DIXIE: I do not know how to put this mildly. So, I am just gonna say it. Are you drinking again? And, don’t you lie to me.

---

Back at Brooke’s Penthouse, Brooke walks to the other side of the living room.

BROOKE: Adam, I do not think giving JR the company was the right choice.

ADAM: He has an amazing plan.

BROOKE: He has an amazing plan? He also had an amazing plan the night that he ambushed our engagement party, and shot Erica Kane in the abdomen. Thank God she is alive.

ADAM: Brooke, that was six years ago.

BROOKE: You think that changes my views on him? Yes, I have partially forgiven JR. But, there is that part of me that is hanging onto something.

ADAM: Brooke, I am too. I promise you that. But, I could die. I truly could die. And, I want someone with a smart plan to run things.

BROOKE: I know. I know that. I just do not think this was the right choice. I do not think JR will do well in the long run. I am warning you.

ADAM: He is a better man. I have seen a change in JR.

BROOKE: I’ll keep my eye out for you.

ADAM: You do that.

BROOKE: Anyways, when is the surgery?

ADAM: Very soon. Stuart is set as well.

BROOKE: Good.

ADAM: Can I ask you something?

BROOKE: Of course.

ADAM: When I walked into the home, I noticed the divorce papers sitting on your coffee table. How come you haven’t filed them yet?

BROOKE: Because, I’m not going to. I realized that all we needed was just a small separation. Adam, I would walk through fire with you. I still love you.

ADAM: I love you too.

Brooke and Adam walk slowly to one another, and embrace.

---

Back at Pine Valley Memorial, Joe and Cara walk over to a bench, and sit.

JOE: So, you kissed David Hayward?

CARA: I did.

JOE: Why?

CARA: (sighs) About a month ago, I told David that I wanted to be with him. Joe, part of me still loves him. Now, he is with Krystal, and I am stuck over here, out of the loop. Tonight, I confronted him, and feelings got in the way. That is when the kiss happened.

JOE: Cara, why do you feel the love for David? After all that has happened between you two, why do you still love him?

CARA: I guess it falls under the thrill of it all, maybe?

JOE: What do you mean by that?

CARA: David and I do have a love story. We have a very thrilling love story. Sure, there have been things that we both want to forget. However, I will always love that man.

JOE: Do you still want David forever in your life?

CARA: You bet I do.

JOE: Then, there is only one thing I can say to you.

CARA: What?

JOE: Go get your man.

The two laugh.

---

At ConFusion, Diane and Nina are sharing a bottle of wine.

DIANE: I cannot remember the last time I was this drunk.

NINA: Well, with the way things have gone for you, I say you deserve it.

DIANE: I think I do to.

NINA: So, you were saying that you were raised in California?

DIANE: Yes.

NINA: Must be nice. Did you always know about us?

DIANE: No. I always knew about Opal, but not the rest of the family. I only found out about the rest of family in my thirties.

NINA: Why now?

DIANE: What do you mean?

NINA: Why come to Pine Valley now?

DIANE: Because, it is time.

NINA: Time for what exactly?

DIANE: Time for me to stake a claim.

Diane takes a small sip of her wine.

---

In the Courtyard of the Pine Valley Inn, Opal and Peter are sitting on a bench.

OPAL: Thank you for coming out here with me.

PETER: Of course. So, you said you had a secret.

OPAL: I do have one. A big one. No one in the family knows. I wanted you to be the first one that I told it to.

PETER: This doesn’t have anything to do with your brain tumor recovery, does it?

OPAL: No, it does not. Petey, I want to say sorry if this causes you any pain.

PETER: Mom, you are scaring me. What is it?

OPAL: (sighs) When I was in my beginning of my teen years, I got pregnant. I carried the baby, I gave birth, and then I gave it up for adoption. Basically, what I am trying to say…

PETER: (shocked) Is that I have a sister.

OPAL: (wiping tears) Yes, you have a sister Petey. You have a sister.

---

Back at the Slater Home, Joshua and Kendall stand in the living room.

KENDALL: I am done with you. I wish you would have never come back.

JOSHUA: That hurts. After all, you do have my original heart.

KENDALL: I don’t give a damn. I’m gonna say this once and one time only. I hate you. I do not want you in my life. Stay away from my children, my husband, and me. If you don’t I will go after you, you smug bastard.

Kendall slaps Joshua.

---

Inside, in the ballroom, Lily walks up on stage. Everyone faces her.

LILY: Good evening everyone. Welcome to the 1st Annual Sunrise Flowers Gala.

Everyone claps.

LILY: I am so happy that all of you came tonight to support the fight against the disease of autism. This disorder is very close to my personal life. In fact, it is why I created the organization in the first place. At the age of five, I was diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder. When I was old enough to understand this disorder, I thought I could never have a chance at a normal life. However, that is not the case. Each and every day, myself and millions of others wake up with such disorder, and face life. Through this newly created organization I able to shine a light on finding a cure. It is time we take a stand! It is time we find a cure! Ladies and gentlemen join me in finding a cure!

Everyone claps, as the camera zooms in on Lily’s smiling face.

***FADE OUT***

***END OF EP. 54***


bottom of page