top of page

EP 38 - The Funeral of Marissa Tasker


All My Children - Episode 38

Created By: Agnes Nixon

Executive Producer: Dawn Hayes

Directed By: Jill Ackles

A new day has come to Pine Valley. At St. Francis Church, the camera zooms off a portrait of Marissa. Bianca walks up to the picture.

BIANCA: (sighs) Hi honey. Today’s the day. Today is the day that I say goodbye to you. That I say goodbye to the woman that I have loved for many, many years. You were a shining light in my life. I will always miss you. I love you. I love you.

---

---

Back at St. Francis Church, Erica goes up to Bianca, and rest her hands on Bianca’s shoulders. Bianca turns around, and her and Erica hug.

ERICA: (coming off the hug) How are you feeling?

BIANCA: Like my heart has been ripped out of my chest.

ERICA: Jackson and Kendall will be in here soon. Zach ended up taking the boys out. Even though they are grown up, Zach and Kendall did not want them around a funeral. Considering the situation.

BIANCA: I understand. At least I have my sister, and my uncle.

ERICA: They are always here for you.

Jackson and Kendall walk up to Bianca and Erica.

KENDALL: Hey, sis.

BIANCA: Hi.

Kendall and Bianca hug. Coming off of the hug, Bianca and Jackson go to a hug. Then, Bianca and Jackson come off the hug.

JACKSON: Kendall and I spoke to Reverend Hobbs. He will be in here soon, with the rest of the funeral attendees. Do you need a moment by yourself?

BIANCA: I’m good. I just wanna get this over with. The hurt and the pain I am feeling. I just want for it to stop.

KENDALL: I know you do Binks. It pains me to see you go through this.

JACKSON: Same here.

ERICA: But, I know she can get through it.

BIANCA: (sighs) Thank you.

Then, the screen flashes.

The church is full now. Bianca, Erica, Jackson, Kendall, Krystal, David, Jenny, AJ, Colby, Scott, Liza, and Caleb are sitting in pew benches. Reverend Hobbs goes up to the podium.

REVEREND HOBBS: We are all gathered here today, to reflect on the life and love that came in Marissa Tasker. Marissa lived her life to the fullest. She donated her time to the community of Pine Valley, and to her wife, and family. Marissa was never afraid to make friends that helped her to go through life. I had the privilege of marrying Bianca and Marissa six years ago. They were absolutely in love. They were a wonderful and magnificent love story. At this time, I invite anyone to come up, and speak about their memories of Marissa.

Krystal goes up to the podium.

KRYSTAL: (sighs) I do not know where to begin. So, I wrote a poem. I would like to read it. (getting out/unfolding paper) (clears throat) Here it goes. If I only had five minutes the day you passed away, then I would get to tell you everything I wanted to say. I would tell you how much I love you. I would tell you that you were the best daughter anyone could ever ask for. I would tell you that you were better than any other. (sobs) If I only had five minutes, I would get to see you again. (sighs) Thank you for listening, everyone. As I stand here today, I realize that I only have one daughter left. That is my beautiful Jenny. I know that Marissa lives through her. And, she always will.

Krystal steps down, as Jenny walks up.

JENNY: I regret that I never had the chance to spend more time with my sister. I wish that I would have been there as much as I could have. When Marissa came into all of our lives, it was a rocky start. We can all admit that, but she turned into one of Pine Valley’s favorites. I will always miss her, and I will always cherish her. She was a wonderful and beautiful person.

Jenny walks off, and David goes up.

DAVID: (sniffles) I know most of you do not like me, but we are not here about that, today. We are here for a celebration of a force to be reckoned with. Marissa could by far do anything she set her mind to. Marissa always believed that people wait to say things nice, until you die. WIth Marissa, that was never the case. She was always someone that you could pay a compliment to, because she would return the favor. I will forever miss this great lady. I love you, my little girl. I love you.

David walks back to his seat. Reverend Hobbs goes back up.

REVEREND HOBBS: At this time, I invite anyone else who would like to speak.

No one else goes up.

ERICA: (whispers) Honey, are you sure you don’t want to go up there?

BIANCA: I...I...I can’t.

Bianca stands.

KENDALL: Binks…

JACKSON: Bianca…

BIANCA: I can’t do that.

Bianca storms out of the church.

KENDALL: I’ll get her.

Kendall goes after Bianca, as the funeral continues.

Outside of the church, Kendall goes to Bianca.

KENDALL: Binks.

BIANCA: I don’t feel like talking.

KENDALL: Listen, I know this can be stressful, but you are strong. You are a strong woman. The strongest person I know. You can walk through fire, and you could get through it. Do not let this get you down. I know what it is like to lose a spouse. I thought I lost Zach in that plane crash. It tore me apart.

BIANCA: But, he is alive.

KENDALL: Yes, he is. But, that does not erase the pain I felt.

BIANCA: I just feel so guilty. God should have taken me. It should have been me to die in that explosion. I should have been the one to flatline on that table. Not Marissa.

KENDALL: Binks, Marissa would not want you to do this to yourself. The bible tells us to grieve. It is a natural part of life, but it also says not to do it for long. That there are other things in life. And, there are other things for you.

BIANCA: Thank you. Kendall, you are always there for me. I love you, sis.

KENDALL: I love you too. Come on. Let’s take a walk.

BIANCA: Okay.

As Kendall and Bianca walk off, Bianca begins to think about Marissa.

---

Back at the church, everyone has gone to the complimentary lunch provided by the church. Jenny and AJ are the ones left. Jenny walks up to AJ.

JENNY: You have cearintly grown up.

AJ: So have you.

JENNY: (laughs) Come here.

Jenny and AJ hug.

AJ: (coming off the hug) I am going to miss her.

JENNY: Me too. Me too.

AJ: She kept me going. She was a mother to me, when I did not have one.

JENNY: Gosh, she will be missed. Hey, why don’t we catch up with the rest of the people, and have a tasty lunch. All of Marissa’s favorites.

AJ: Sounds good to me.

Jenny and AJ walk off, but AJ looks back at Marissa’s casket.

***FADE OUT***

***END OF EP. 38***

bottom of page